Little Kate’s Toasted Almond Coconut Tea Cakes

image

For Christmas my mother in law gave me a book called ‘One Girl Cookies’, a wonderful book from a Brooklyn bakery of the same name. What I loved most about the book is that it has recipes for really unique cookies, cakes, tarts etc that are EASY and I already have so many of the ingredients. What I really hate is a cook book full of weird ingredients.

My brother and sister in law and their two gorgeous children live in Brooklyn. One thing I noticed in the book is that they give their treats girls names, It’s a cute idea. When I think of Brooklyn I think of our family and in particular little one year old Kate. So these are going to be called little Kate’s tea cakes!

The original recipe was for coconut and almond macaroons but I didn’t make mine into balls because it was just easier to put them in patty pans so it didn’t feel right to call them macaroons. Regardless, I hope you find them as delicious as I did. Next time we are in Brooklyn I’ll post a photo of the myself and Kate eating the actual thing!

Ingredients:
(makes 30, prep and cooking time 30mins)

3 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1 cup sliced almonds
1/8 tsp table salt
2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large egg whites

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Place paper patty pans into a 24 mini cupcake tray.

2. Spread the coconut out on a baking sheet, and toast in the oven for 4 minutes. Transfer to a heatproof bowl and let it cool.

3. Put the almonds on a baking sheet and toast them for 8 minutes, then let them cool. When they are cool enough to handle, pour them into a food processor and pulse three or four times. Transfer to a large mixing bowl. Add the coconut and the salt. Mix thoroughly.

4. In a medium bowl, combine the condensed milk, vanilla and egg whites with a fork. Gently mix the egg mixture  into the coconut mixture until fully combined.

5. Using a small spoon, scoop up a small amount of the the mixture, enough to fill the mini cupcake case and place into a patty pan, pressing down the top of each one once full.

6. Bake for 12 minutes, or until they have just the faintest golden colour on their tops. Transfer to a write rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

